The Technical Cooperation ep2 Association was founded on April 12, 2007. With this foundation, the efficient and eleven year long cooperation between the Swiss acquirers and Verband Elektronischer Zahlungsverkehr (VEZ) gets an adequate legal form.

The members are:

  • Accarda AG
  • BonusCard AG
  • BS Payone GmbH
  • Concardis
  • CCV Jeronimo Suisse SA
  • Cembra Money Bank AG
  • Ingenico Suisse SA
  • Innocard AG
  • MF Group AG
  • PostFinance - Swiss Post
  • SIX Payment Services AG
  • Swisscard - AECS AG
  • Verband Elektronischer Zahlungsverkehr VEZ

The annual reports of the TeCo are available below:

ep2 within SEPA environment

In order to push and to develop the chip based EMV payment method in the Swiss market, the mentioned companies above combined their forces and developed the standard ep2 for card present and distance payment. With this ep2 standard the current eft/pos infrastructure of credit and debit terminals, as well for vending machines in Switzerland is defined. The result is an open system based on international standards and recommendations. The ep2 standard has been introduced in May 31, 2003 and fulfills all needs of a modern cashless payment instrument.

Today almost 90% of the terminals in Switzerland has been migrated to the ep2 standard. Older protocols and security standards are arriving at the end of their lifecycle. In addition, the operating of parallel systems causes high costs for all processors. After many years of parallelism and due to the decreasing number of old terminals, therefore merchants with non ep2 compliant terminals will be requested by acquirers to replace the old technology with ep2 compliant terminals until the end of 2010.

Today, there are a multitude of ep2 compliant terminals available. For more information, please contact one of the following terminal manufacturers.